peterOur Patron

In February 2009 the Green Team Board appointed the first Green Team Patron, Peter Wright.

Peter began his career in Youth Work and Community Education going on to become the Manager of the Duke of Edinburgh’s Award Unit in the City of Edinburgh from 1989-2007. He co-founded Youth in Trust – now the National Trust for Scotland Conservation Volunteers, and Thistle Camps. Peter set up the Green Team in 1995 to offer an environmental opportunity to those taking part in the Duke of Edinburgh’s Award. He also helped to establish the John Muir Award. He is currently Convenor and Treasurer of the History of Education Centre in Edinburgh. In 2005 Peter was awarded an MBE for services to the community.

Our Board Members

Gavin Crosby, Chair
Gavin has a background in informal education. He has worked with young people in schools, youth work settings and through the Duke of Edinburgh’s Award. He has a Postgraduate Certificate in Community Education and currently works at the City of Edinburgh Council in Community Learning and Development. Gavin has volunteered with the Green Team over a number of years and became chair in 2007. Gavin brings knowledge of youth, education and additional support needs policy to the board as well as experience in delivering services to challenging young people.

Fiona Longstaff, minutes secretary
After a short period in primary education, Fiona’s working life has focussed on university administration and her last post before retiring was as Academic Registrar for the University of Edinburgh. She is enthusiastic about outdoor activities including conservation volunteer work. Fiona is a member of the Personnel sub-committee.

Don Williamson
Don Williamson is Chief Executive of Shared Care Scotland a national charity supporting carers and care recipients. Prior to this he spent two years as Programme Director in Edinburgh for the international leadership organisation Common Purpose, and before this was eight years with The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award as Assistant then Deputy Director for Scotland. Don is also a member of the Visiting Committee for Polmont Young Offenders Institution.

Liesel Harvey
Liesel has a background in education and has been a teacher since 2001. She has a wide and extensive experience of working with children and young people in a variety of different settings including play and youth work as well as eduction and through volunteer positions with The Green Team and Duke of Edinburgh Award. She became a member of the board in 2009 after a number of years as a volunteer leader.

Lorna Street
Lorna is a research scientist specialising in ecosystems and ecology. She is based at Heriot-Watt University, and is working on a project that aims to understand how Arctic ecosytems will respond to climate change. Â Lorna has been a volunteer leader with the Green Team since 2003.

Andy Ruck
Andy Ruck has a Postgraduate Diploma in Outdoor Environmental and Sustainability Education, and experience of outdoor leadership in a wide variety of contexts. He has worked as an overseas expedition leader, climbing instructor, and on employability programmes with The Conservation Volunteers (TCV). Over the past three years, he has also been a very active volunteer leader with the Green Team, both on the Green Volunteers and Green Shoots programmes.

Kim McIntosh
Kim began volunteering as a leader with the Green Team in 2006. It was through her involvement with the Green Team that she learned about the John Muir Award, where she has been the Inclusion Manager for Scotland for the last 6 years. The Green Team is one of over 200 organisations that she works with in this role, but is one of her favourites! Kim has experience of youth work in the environmental field as well as in sport, residential schools, and informal youth work. She has a degree in Outdoor Education and Environmental Studies, a Volunteer Management SVQ6, a John Muir Discovery Award (through the Green Team), she came 19th out of 38 women in the Stirling triathlon this year and was awarded Young St Andrews Citizen of the Year in 2000!